

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

June 23, 2017, 1:30 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Dr. Bo Hannaford, Dr.

Kent Shellenberger, and Secretary of Education

Natalie Shirley

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Bruce Day

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt, Dr. Kathren

Stehno and Jeff Wallace.

VISITORS: Melissa Michie, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher

Education; Dr. Chad Buckendahl, ACS Ventures; Dr. Gerard Clancy, University of Tulsa; Janet Levit, University of Tulsa; Jake Yunker, Office of the Governor; Matthew Lafon, Assistant Attorney General; Christie Southern, eCapitol; Craig Walker, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Dr. Jeanene Barnett, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Angela Bilyeu, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Dr. Marianne Perie, Kansas University; Emily Shipley, State Chamber

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 1:33 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the May 17, 2017 Commission Meeting: Mr. Brown made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 17, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve

Discussion and action on a need for emergency rulemaking due to a compelling public interest. Dr. Shellenberger made a motion on a need for emergency rulemaking due to compelling public interest. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve

Discussion and action on adoption of emergency rules related to revocation of

accreditation: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to adopt emergency rules regarding reapplication for accreditation after revocation. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve

Discussion and action on State Accreditation status for the University of Tulsa: Dr.

Hannaford made a motion to revoke state accreditation for the University of Tulsa's Department of Education. Dr. Shellenberger seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Secretary Shirley:	approve

Discussion and action on cut score for Reading Sufficiency Act: Ms. Bixler made a motion to approve the cut score established by the committee for the Reading Sufficiency Act. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: approve Mr. Day: absent Secretary Shirley: approve

Quality and Accountability program updates: State reports, School profile reports, School performance reviews, CAEP site visits, program review advisory board, ECU candidates will be participating in the PPAT assessments, Ninety two National Board candidates turned in all components, Virtual Charter School Review.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Shellenberger made an announcement of his resignation effective June 30th, 2017. OEQA staff and Commission members thanked him for his years of service to the Commission.

The meeting adjourned at 2:57 P.M. The minutes of the June 23, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections	
on July 19, 2017.			
Signed:			
Natalie Sh	irlev. Chairman	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Dire	ector